Community of the Sisters of the Church (CSC)
PO Box 1105, Glebe

Contact Form

Send an Email

Community History and Mission

Community History and Mission

The Community of the Sisters of the Church is an international community of lay and ordained women. The Community was founded in England by Emily Ayckbown in 1870 and now has Sisters in Australia, Canada, Solomon Islands and United Kingdom. 

The Sisters in the Australia Province reside in three locations: Kempsey and Sydney in NSW, and Melbourne in Victoria. One Sister in Sydney and one Sister in Melbourne are in Aged Care Facilities. At present, the Mother Superior, who is also the Australia Provincial, usually lives in Kempsey.

The Community’s patrons, Michael and the Angels, point the Sisters to a life of worship and active ministry. The Sisters in Australia express their ministry in a way that is relevant to contemporary Australian society and culture. One Sister produces leaflets on contextual issues - see below

CSC leaflets

After a time of formation Sisters take the traditional religious vows of poverty, chastity and obedience at life profession. 

Associates of the Community of the Sisters of the Church are women and men who wish to share in the ministry of the Sisters by proclaiming the love of God in prayer, words and actions.